During the 2023 Annual Session, April 21-24 in Chicago, the AAO House of Delegates elected 2023-24 officers including Dr. Myron D. Guymon (president), Dr. John D. Callahan (president-elect), Dr. Steven M. Siegel (secretary-treasurer). The HOD also elected Dr. Kenneth R. Webb as the new trustee from the Northeastern Society of Orthodontists and inducted the new trustee-at-large, Dr. Enrique Cruz.

“We are looking forward to a year of positive developments in AAO member services and programs and advocacy for the specialty,” says Dr. Guymon. “In addition to the great men and women on our Board of Trustees, we have excellent leaders at regional and state levels whose contributed talents and work help advance the specialty in many ways.

“If you would like to help the specialty navigate its path to a strong future, we encourage you to consider becoming active in organized orthodontics,” adds Dr. Guymon. “Now is a great time to contact your constituent executive director, your constituent leaders or your component (state) leaders to see where they need help, and discuss opportunities to contribute.”

AAO members with interest in helping advance public policies that align with the concerns of the specialty and needs of orthodontic patients may wish to join the new National Advocacy Network as a Component Advocacy Liaison or an AAOPAC Captain.  Text the word “NAN” to the number 52886 to express your interest and learn more.

“Our organizations at all levels have many tasks for various initiatives, some of which do not require large, ongoing time commitments or much expertise,” says Dr. Guymon. “Many of us in orthodontic leadership learned a lot of what we know ‘on the job.’”

In addition to Drs. Guymon, Callahan, Siegel, Webb and Cruz, the 2023-24 AAO Board of Trustees includes:

Dr. Michael G. Durbin, trustee, Midwestern Society of Orthodontists
Dr. Richard A. Williams, trustee, Southern Association of Orthodontists
Dr. Michael W. Sherman, trustee, Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists
Dr. Stephen D. Robirds, trustee, Southwestern Society of Orthodontists
Dr. Trista Felty, trustee, Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists
Dr. Ryan D. Frost, trustee, Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists
Dr. Anil J. Idiculla, trustee
Dr. Lauren L. Pass, trustee
Dr. Dennis C. Hiller, Speaker of the House of Delegates
Dr. Rolf G. Behrents, Editor-in-Chief, AJO-DO and AJO-DO Clinical Companion
Ms. Lynne Thomas Gordon, Chief Executive Officer