The AAO is now accepting submissions for the 2024 Ortho Innovator Award. Now in its sixth year, the Ortho Innovator Award is part of an ongoing effort to support innovation among orthodontists and industry suppliers. Businesses considered eligible to enter the competition are companies offering new products or services for orthodontic treatment or orthodontic practice management.  

“The Ortho Innovator award is just one way the AAO is committed to supporting entrepreneurial orthodontists and partners in our industry,” said Dr. Myron D. Guymon, AAO president. “The AAO Committee on Technology (CTECH) is looking for a bright idea that will help advance our specialty. If your innovation is a product that revolutionizes orthodontic treatment, or helps manage a practice better, enhance the patient experience or offers a unique marketing approach, I encourage you to apply.”

All participants must submit an online entry that includes a 3-5 minute “elevator pitch” video featuring the innovating AAO member/orthodontist(s), addressing the AAO Committee on Technology (CTECH).

All entries must be received by January 31, 2024. CTECH will evaluate all entries by uniqueness, originality, functionality, feasibility, and value for an orthodontic practice.

One winner will be selected by the committee to receive the 2024 AAO Ortho Innovator award. Grand Prize winner will receive travel to 2024 Annual Session and exhibition space during the 2025 Annual Session in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Applicants seeking investors may submit their interest in being considered for the 2024 AAO OrthoTank start-up pitch event that will take place live at the 2024 Annual Session in New Orleans. The OrthoTank start-up pitch event is inspired by the popular Shark Tank television show and provides a venue for selected start-ups to pitch to a panel of judges for possible funding support. 

To learn more and apply for the 2024 Ortho Innovator Award, visit: 

Past Ortho Innovator Award Recipients

2023: Dr. Cosmo Haralambidis
Synapse Dental, LLC

2022: Dr. Alfred Griffin

2021: Dr. Adam Schulhof

2020: Mr. Todd Blankenbecler

2019: Dr. Brandon Owen