The AAO is offering Faculty Fellowship Awards for the first time since the 2009-10 academic year. The 2018 House of Delegates adopted a resolution to reinstate the Faculty Fellowship Awards Program by offering three, two-year funded Fellowships of $60,000 per year for 2019, 2020 and 2021.

The AAO conducts annual surveys of Faculty Fellowship Award recipients who received funding from 2007-2010.  The 2018 HOD resolution’s original draft by the Council on Orthodontic Education (COE) notes that survey results “show that of the 20 former Fellows, all but one has remained in academics. The remaining 19 orthodontic faculty members have generated 153 years of teaching and current indicators suggest they will stay in orthodontic program settings for the foreseeable future.”

The COE cited concerns based on recently released American Dental Education Association statistics reflecting 2015-16, indicating large numbers of dental and dental specialty faculty members are nearing retirement. The new Faculty Fellowship Awards program was developed to help stimulate interest in academic careers among today’s young orthodontists.

Applications for the first group of Faculty Fellowship Awards are being accepted, with all materials due by February 1, 2019.
Access Faculty Fellowship Awards and the Application*

* The page also includes a link to the AAO Foundation Faculty Awards page and information about AAOF awards, which have an application deadline of November 16, 2018.